ASMI Award for Excellence & Distinguished Service Awards

 ASMI Award for Excellence

Paul Brown

At the ASMI 2015 Conference on 11 November 2015 in Sydney, ASMI honoured Paul Brown with the Association's highest Award, the ASMI Award for Excellence.

Paul has held a variety of pharmaceutical industry roles in Australia and the United Kingdom.

In Australia he joined Syntex Pharmaceuticals in a Sales role and progressed into Marketing.

Joining Sterling Pharmaceuticals in 1987 he was responsible for marketing a wide range of ethical and OTC brands including Panadol and Panadeine before moving into the Public Affairs role within GlaxoSmthKline Consumer Healthcare. 

Paul has had a long association with the ASMI serving on sub-committees over a number of years, contributing valuable insights and generously sharing his knowledge and expertise. 

Previous Awards

At a Celebratory Lunch on Tuesday 11 December 2012 in Sydney, ASMI honoured former Secretariat staff member Mary Emanuel with the Association's highest Award, the ASMI Award for Excellence.

Until her retirement earlier in the year, Mary had been with the Association for over 20 years, mainly in the capacity of QUM Manager. Presenting the Award to Mary, ASMI Executive Director, Dr Deon Schoombie (pictured below with Mary) described her contribution to the industry as "invaluable" and said her helpful nature and dedication would be very much missed.

Mary & Deon 2012 

Past winners are: Juliet Steifert (2010); Sol Cohen, Contract Pharmaceutical Services of Australia (2006); Alan & Jane Oppenheim, Ego Pharmaceuticals (2005); Sue Akeroyd, Sue Akeroyd & Associates (2004); Mark Bowden PhD, Pfizer Consumer Healthcare (2003); Anthea Steans, Boots Healthcare (2002).

Recipients receive a hand painted didgeridoo - a reminder of ASMI's commitment to a unified voice.

Distinguished Service Awards

These Awards honour ASMI member company representatives who have demonstrated commitment and passion in their contribution to ASMI's activities.

The 2010 Awards were presented at the ASMI Annual Conference Dinner on Thursday 18 November 2010 by Jane Halton PSM, Secretary of the Department of Health & Ageing. The recipients were:

Elizabeth Ng & Jane Halton

Elizabeth Ng, Regulatory Affairs

Peter Kissane & Jane Halton

Peter Kissane, Quality & Technical Management

Mike Cocks & Jane Halton

Mike Cocks, Advertising & Communications

Past winners are: Bill Curtis, CJB (2007); Bronwyn Capanna, ACCORD (2007); Tony Miller, NZSMI (ASMI's sister assocation in New Zealand) (2007)